Barcelona: Day Three

Ok, so here we go with the highlights from my last day in Barcelona!

Day three started with saying goodbye and bon voyage to my new friends who were flying back to their university in Versailles (I was very jealous at the time and wished I were flying back to Paris instead of Oviedo..). I wandered aimlessly out of the hostel with two rough ideas of how to spend my day: I wanted to go to the beach area and I wanted to go up the hill to Montjuïc. I still hadn’t decided which to do first as I left the hostel but when I reached the metro stop for the Montjuïc funicular I finally made my decision and kept on strolling down to the beach. It turned out to be quite a walk but the weather was okay and when I finally did make it I bumped into my room-mates! We passed some time very pleasantly enjoying the view of the sea and a few snatches of beautiful warm sunshine before the thunderclouds started to roll overhead (they kept rolling and it turned into a beautiful afternoon). I imagine that the beach would be great in summer, it is a nice long sandy stretch and Barcelona does get quite hot in summer I’m told.

La barceloneta - The beach in Barcelona


Pebbles on the beach


Around the middle of the day we said goodbye again and I made my way up to Montjuïc. Montjuïc is home to an old castle, a bunch of museums and gardens and the 1992 Barcelona Olympics venues. It’s only a short funicular ride up the hill (for the price of a regular metro ticket) and you don’t really realise how far and how high it is until you get up there. I didn’t stop at any of the museums although there are quite a few with both art and ethnographic exhibits. Instead I wandered around some beautiful open garden spaces and looked out at the great view over the city. I also tried to visit the old castle right at the top of the hill but I think that, in spite of the signs pointing you in the direction of the castle from the funicular stop, it is only accessible by the cable car or by driving. I made it as far as some car parks up the pretty steep hill and then the trail sort of disappeared. So I left it at that!

Barcelona is big


Looking down from a garden to the museum of Catalan Art


Spring is coming!!

It was an early night back at the hostel that evening and I had the whole dorm to myself! This was super helpful when I got up at 4.30am before my 7.20am flight, as it meant I could switch all the lights on and be as noisy as I liked! I made it back out to the airport easily enough, with no delays, and consequently had arrived at my terminal and passed through security before the gate number for my flight had even been released. Once back in Asturias I caught the bus back to Oviedo, walked home to dump my backpack (where I also discovered a lovely parcel from home had arrived for me) before making it to school for an 11.25am start. It was an extremely long day!

As always, more photos to come on Flickr, especially some yummy photos I took at the Mercat La Boquería over the three days I visited. Stay tuned for a new Wordy Wednesday post tomorrow!

TTFN.

2 Comments

Filed under Barcelona, Spain, Travel

2 responses to “Barcelona: Day Three

  1. wendyn

    Love the photos! Wx

    • Janet & Peter

      Peter has just read your latest and when he saw the photo of the beach at Barcelona his comment was “That’s the beach?!” with heavy emphasis on the word beach!

Leave a Reply

